• About us
  • Partners


Comesa Logo

COMESA Secretariat

COMESA came into existence in December 1994, replacing the Preferential Trade Area (PTA) which had existed from 1980. COMESA (as defined by its Treaty) was established as an organization of free, independent sovereign states "which have agreed to co-operate in developing their natural and human resources for the good of all their people" and as such it has a wide-ranging series of objectives which  include in its priorities the promotion of peace and security in the region.

EAC Logo

East African Community

The East African Community (EAC) is a regional intergovernmental organization of six Partner States: the Republics of Burundi, Kenya, Rwanda, South Sudan, the United Republic of Tanzania, and the Republic of Uganda, with its headquarters in Arusha, Tanzania.

The EAC is home to 172 million citizens, of which over 22% is urban population. With a land area of 2.5 million square kilometres, it has a combined Gross Domestic Product of US$ 172 billion (EAC Statistics for 2017).


Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS)

The Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS) was established on May 28 1975 by the treaty of Lagos. ECOWAS is a 15-member regional group with a mandate of promoting economic integration in all fields of activity of the constituting countries.

Member countries making up ECOWAS are Benin, Burkina Faso, Cape Verde, Cote d’ Ivoire, The Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea Bissau, Liberia, Mali, Niger, Nigeria, Sierra Leone, Senegal and Togo.