• Kuhusu sisi
  • Washirika


Comesa Logo


The Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa (COMESA) came into existence in December 1994, replacing the Preferential Trade Area (PTA) which had existed from 1980. COMESA (as defined by its Treaty) was established as an organization of free, independent sovereign states which agreed to co-operate in developing their natural and human resources for the good of all their people.

COMESA's 21 Member States are: Burundi, Comoros, Democratic Republic of Congo, Djibouti, Egypt, Eritrea, Eswatini, Ethiopia, Kenya, Libya, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Rwanda, Seychelles, Somalia, Sudan, Tunisia, Uganda, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

EAC Logo

East African Community

The East African Community (EAC) is a regional intergovernmental organization with its headquarters in Arusha, Tanzania. Its six Partner States are: Burundi, Kenya, Rwanda, South Sudan, the United Republic of Tanzania, and Uganda.

The EAC is home to 172 million citizens, of which over 22% is urban population. With a land area of 2.5 million square kilometres, it has a combined Gross Domestic Product of US$ 172 billion (EAC Statistics, 2017).


Economic Community of West African States

The Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS) was established on May 28 1975 by the treaty of Lagos. ECOWAS is a 15-member regional group with a mandate of promoting economic integration in all fields of activity of the constituting countries.

The member countries which make up ECOWAS are Benin, Burkina Faso, Cape Verde, Cote d’ Ivoire, The Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea Bissau, Liberia, Mali, Niger, Nigeria, Sierra Leone, Senegal and Togo.